Include Recent News Effects functional test file
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Scheuerle Slays in Round 14
Author : Archerfield Speedway

In a race that delivered an emphatic demonstration of Sprintcar racing at its brilliant best, Andrew Scheuerle consolidated his lead in the East Coast Logistics Track Championship with a resounding victory in round 14 at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway on Saturday night (April 28). Behind Scheuerle, the battles for the minor placings that developed throughout the 30-lap race were something to behold as the likes of Luke Oldfield, Michael Saller, Mitchell Gee, Robbie Farr and Lachlan McHugh engaged in a series of breathtaking battles that eventually resulted in Oldfield snaring second spot ahead of Farr and Gee. A late surge from Mark Pholi saw him secure fifth ahead of Saller, with Allan Woods, Jayden Peacock, Bryan Mann and Mick Sauer rounding out the top ten.

In supporting events, Robbie Stewart topped the Compact Speedcar twin feature format, Cody OConnell won in Wingless Sprints, Klinton Hancey prevailed in the Modlite main and Thomas Hunter triumphed in the Ford vs Holden vs Sigma feature race.

With more than half of the 33-car field running under 12 seconds in Sprintcar time trials, it was Farr who emerged quickest of all with a 11.295 circulation to edge out Oldfield (11.326) for KRE Fast Time. Gee (11.372) and Peter Lack (11.519) and Scheuerle (11.523), were next best ahead of Peacock, Cody Maroske, Karl Hoffmans, Brock Dean and Kevin Titman.

Andrew Corbet blasted into the lead of the opening heat, only to throw it away with a spin in turn four that handed the race to Pholi. Mann advanced from the third row of the grid to finish second ahead of David Whell.

Elevated to the front row when Kristy Bonsey was deemed to have jumped the start and dealt a one-row penalty, Woods took full advantage of his good fortune to lead home Sauer in heat two, with Bonsey finishing third as Oldfields charge through the field came to nothing when he spun in turn three on the final lap.

McHugh chased down Ben Hilder to win heat three, with Lack third in a race punctuated by a wild ride from Steve Greer that saw him launched into orbit through turn three before rebounding off the catch fence and returning to earth.

Hilder led Saller and Woods home in winning heat four before Oldfield carved his way through the field to take out heat five from Brad Ayers and Whell.

In the final heat, Sauer outpaced Pholi and Kratzmann for the win, although his success was not enough to secure direct entry into the feature, leaving him to negotiate the B Main.

Having emerged as top qualifier at the completion of the heats, Lacks fortunes looked to be on the rise when he selected pole position for the Dash in the pre-race grid draw and subsequently triumphed in the 6-lap shootout. As he did at the previous round, Saller would start on the outside front row and maintained that position to the finish ahead of Scheuerle, Oldfield, Gee, Farr, Woods and Peacock.

After a wild start to the B Main that saw Peter Campbell, Andrew Corbet and Liam Atkinson involved in a crash before they had even reached the start line, it was Sauer, Kratzmann, Whell and Murray who filled the first four spots and advanced into the feature.

The opening laps of the feature race saw Lack launch into the lead and set sail in search of an elusive feature race win. From the outset, Saller planted his right rear on the cushion and set about putting on a show that was every bit as impressive as his feature race-winning performance from two weeks earlier. Just as it seemed like Lack was on track to secure an overdue feature win, he threw away the lead with a spin in turn four on lap 10. Once Scheurele extricated himself from his duel with Saller, he took control of the race and the young Sydneysider found himself trying to fend off the advances of Oldfield, Gee and McHugh. As the laps wound down, McHugh looped in turn four to extinguish his podium aspirations, while Oldfield closed in on the lead as lapped traffic became a factor. However, a spin from Hoffmans brought about a restart with 10 laps to run, presenting Scheuerle with clear track on which he could go about extending his advantage once again. Gee pounced at the restart to surge ahead of Oldfield, with Saller fourth ahead of Farr at this stage of proceedings. Hoffmans halted proceedings again with 6 laps to run when he tipped over in turn four. Upon resumption, Oldfield pounced to reclaim second spot and Gee soon found himself under attack from Farr. At the chequer, Scheuerle remained in control to secure a timely win over Oldfield, Farr and Gee, with Pholi snatching fifth from Saller. Completing the finishers behind Woods, Peacock, Mann and Sauer, were Murray, Hilder, Cody Maroske and McHugh, who would spin again, with Kratzmann the final finisher.

In the Henchcraft Summer Showdown, Compact Speedcar drivers contested time trials and a heat race each to determine starting positions for the first of two feature races and it was Robbie Stewart who cut the quickest lap before Wayne Corbett and Emma Harris took out the heats.

The first of the 15-lap features saw Stewart enjoy an untroubled run to win ahead of Glenn Wright, Harris, Nick Gannon and Bernie Clarke, with the field inverted for the second feature race to put Stewart at the back of the bus. Matt ONeill ran out an easy winner of the second feature race but, after climbing through the field, a second-place finish gave Stewart victory overall ahead of Wright, Harris, Gannon and Dave Collins.

A clean sweep performance from Cody OConnell saw him win two heats and the 20-lap feature race to dominate round 11 of the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Wingless Sprints Club Championship. Brant Chandler finished second in the feature race ahead of Paul Robinson, who was the only other heat winner on the night, with Geoff Davey and John Slack completing the top five.

Australian champ Klinton Hancey proved too strong once again in Modlite competition, winning two heats and holding off a late challenge from Terry Leerentveld to also clinch the feature. Sam Gollschewsky finished in third spot, with Brock Lehfeldt climbing back to fourth after a spin saw him banished to the back.

Boyd Chaffey (2), Jy Corbet and Tarhlea Apelt, in her final outing before stepping into the senior ranks, shared the spoils in Formula 500 Junior events and it was Thomas Hunter who prevailed in the Ford vs Holden vs Sigma feature race, leading home Michael Laver, Bernie Wright and Dave Tookey.

New Page 2