Include Recent News Effects functional test file
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Midgets Time to Shine
Author : Archerfield Speedway

With the international Sprintcar season now concluded, the mighty Midgets take centre stage this weekend at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway on Saturday night (January 20) for the running of the Stan Burrow Stampede. Staged in memory of long-time Midget racer and team owner Stan Burrow, the event has attracted a first class field of racers from Australia and overseas chasing the $3000 on offer to the winner of the Stampede feature race. Boasting a rich history in Australia, Midget racing has produced some of Australias biggest motor racing success stories and the division continues to produce exciting new talents, several of whom will be in action this weekend, taking on established stars from Queensland, interstate and overseas. As always, the Archerfield program is packed with quality support racing and family entertainment, including AMCA Nationals, Wingless Sprints, Modlites, Lightning Sprints, Open Sedans, Fireworks and all the mayhem of the Caravan, Boat and Dunny Derby.

Heading the entry list for the Stan Burrow Stampede are two of Australias very best Midget competitors in Adam Clarke and Nathan Smee, along with New Zealand hot shoe Hayden Williams. A four-time Australian Midget champion, Clarke recently captured the New South Wales Championship in Sydney and, although he has been a regular runner at Archerfield in recent years, he will be making his first appearance for this season on the back of his state title success. Of course, Smee is also a former national titleholder and was easily the best of the Aussies in last seasons Australian Championship feature race at Archerfield, finishing third behind two American professionals in Rico Abreu and Brady Bacon. Also representing NSW on Saturday night will be young gun Kaiden Brown, Andy Hassan and a trio of racers carrying one of the most famous names in Australian Midget racing, namely Don, Robert and Jordan Mackay.

Whilst New Zealander Hayden Williams will have victory as his utmost priority on Saturday night, he will no doubt be happy if he can avoid a repeat of his spectacular crash at home just after Christmas when he came perilously close to vaulting the catch fence at Western Springs Speedway in Auckland. It was a wild moment that has left Williams undaunted in his quest for Midget success, so look for the Kiwi ace to be in the thick of the action throughout the 40-lap feature race.

Of the locals, Scott Farmer and Darren Vine have been the stand-outs thus far this season and they will relish the additional competition that the Stan Burrow Stampede is bringing to town, providing an opportunity to prove themselves in elite company. Despite his relative lack of experience, Farmer finds himself on top of the Track Championship standings with two feature race wins already this season. Vine has also visited victory lane, while former Queensland champ and defending track titleholder Rusty Whittaker will be looking to end the wretched run of outs that have prevented him from making much impression so far this season. Brock Dean is always a force in longer events, with fellow Sprintcar racer Callum Walker a welcome addition to the field.

AMCA Nationals have been great this season with some extremely close racing and this weekend they have gathered a very strong field for round seven of the Shock Absorber Therapy Track Championship, with previous round winner Steve Price facing off against the likes of Steve Potts, Matt Hardy, Nathan Durston, Russ Hardy, Michael Mason, Thomas Vickery and four-time national champion Shane McKinnell.

Newly crowned Queensland champion Klinton Hancey holds a narrow points advantage over Terry Leerentveld after four rounds of the Modlite Pro Series and both men are again expected to lead the way once again in Saturday night’s exchanges. Hancey has been in terrific form at Archerfield and elsewhere, leaving Leerentveld with a considerable challenge to reassert himself as the category top dog.

A dozen drivers will fight out round seven of the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Queensland Wingless Sprint Club Championship, while Keith Blatch returns to the site of his recent Queensland Championship victory to lead a small field of Lightning Sprints into battle for round 10 of their Everyday Finance Series and, with more than 30 cars nominated in Open Sedans and Ford vs Holden vs Sigma action, over 100 competitors will hit the track. Fireworks will light up the sky and the night will culminate with the carnage, chaos and craziness of the Caravan, Boat and Dunny Derby.

Gates open at 4.00pm (3.30pm for online ticketholders) and early racing gets underway at 4.30pm, with Midgets hitting the track for time trial qualifying from 5.30pm. The main program to kick off at 6.00pm and online tickets can be purchased in advance from the track website at

Stan Burrow Midget Stampede nominations: Adam Clarke, Andy Hassan, Anthony Chaffey, Audie Malt, Brad Young, Brad Harrison, Brock Dean, Cal Whatmore, Callum Walker, Dallas Sharp, Darren Dillon, Darren Vine, Don Mackay, Hayden Williams, Jordan Mackay, Kaiden Brown, Lance Towns, Mark George, Mitchell Rooke, Nathan Mathers, Nathan Smee, Reid Mackay, Robbie Stewart, Robert Mackay, Rodney Harders, Rusty Whittaker, Scott Farmer

AMCA Nationals Track Championship round seven nominations: Anthony Joyce, Chris Wright, Damien Groer, David Moore, Graeme Holland, Matt Hardy, Matthew Herne, Michael Denning, Michael Mason, Nathan Durston, Nick Storey, Ricky Sendall, Russ Hardy, Russell Knight, Shane McKinnell, Steve Potts, Steve Price, Thomas Vickery

Wingless Sprint nominations: Brad Keiler, Brant Chandler, Brian Dixon, Brody Thomson, David Ellis, Josh Dreaver, Mick Lampard, Paul Robinson, Ryan Harris, Sam West, Steve Love, Tim Harris

Everyday Finance Lightning Sprint Series round 10 nominations: Aaron Kelly, Andrew Sparks, David Van Vegchel, Jayden Iacono, Jeremy Hassall, Jim Kennedy, Keith Blatch, Michael Gollagher

For event updates and information, follow Archerfield Speedway on Facebook and Twitter.

New Page 2