Include Recent News Effects functional test file
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Americans Chasing Third Straight Win
Author : Archerfield Speedway

First it was Logan Schuchart and then it was Donny Schatz, so can Lucas Wolfe become the third American in as many shows to win a Sprintcar feature event at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway? Wolfe, Schatz and Schuchart will take on another 30+ drivers in round ten of the East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship on Monday night (January 1). As much as the locals have tried to contain the American stars, all efforts have thus far failed to deliver a win for any of the track championship regulars, with Andrew Scheuerle, Luke Oldfield and Brent Kratzmann proving the best of the rest with podium results in the two international events contested.

Schuchart and Schatz finished first and second respectively in the feature race on December 28, with Oldfield finishing third. Two nights later it was Schatz who triumphed over Scheuerle and Kratzmann, with Wolfe finishing fifth while Schuchart was beset by engine dramas that ended his night after time trials. Others who have been strong without featuring on the podium include Peter Lack, Mark Pholi, Callum Walker and Brock Dean, while the likes of Mitchell Gee, Darren Jensen, Bryan Mann and West Australian young gun Kaiden Manders will be hoping for a change in luck, knowing that they can challenge at the front of the field if they can avoid the misfortunes that have befallen them in the last two shows.

Jensen was spectacular on Saturday night, clinching a place in the feature race field with a last corner pass in the B main before storming into the top ten after starting 18th, only for contact from another competitor to end his stunning run with less than 10 laps remaining. Another on the pace but ultimately out of luck was US-based Australian Lynton Jeffery who, in his first ever appearance at Archerfield, was running strongly in third place when a tangle with Oldfield on lap 20 forced him to the infield. Jeffery returns on Monday night and will also contest the World Series Sprintcar events later in the week.

The Paul Britten 44 Memorial is one of the most prestigious events on the Dirt Modified calendar, and the entry list certainly reflects this with 29 drivers nominated. Needless to say, current Australian champ Kevin Britten and his brother Peter, a former national titleholder who now races professionally in America, are both determined to win the race dedicated to their late father. Kevin won this race last season with a superb drive after accepting the challenge to start at the rear of the field, a feat his brother achieved in the very first staging of the event. This will be Peter’s first race in Australia for quite some time and both of the Britten boys will be determined to keep the trophy in the family for another year.

Such is the prestige of the event amongst competitors, more than half the field has travelled from interstate to take part and, in a line-up that contains another four Australian championship winners in Mark Robinson, Andrew Pezzutti, Scott Cannon and Jai Stephenson, rest assured that whoever wins this event will have most certainly earned their success. Of the rest, Ray Eggins has been in great form this season, Mitchell Randall finished on the podium in this event last year and Andrew Firth comes to Brisbane fresh from a feature race win in Grafton on Saturday night.

Formula 500s return for round two of the Ian Boettcher Stampede Series and it is Kurt Wilson who is now the man to beat following his win in the opening round on December 28. After just a handful of Formula 500 starts, the current Australian Lightning Sprint champion outgunned his rivals to finish ahead of Tomas Partington and Nathan Pronger, both of whom are back for another shot. Plagued by mechanical maladies in the opening round, Kristin Brown will be looking to put those misfortunes behind her with a visit to victory lane, while Marshall Lewis, Ethan Eyears, Nick Hodges and Mitchell Whittaker are also expected to feature prominently.

Formula 500 Juniors, two divisions of Open Sedans, Fireworks and a Demolition Derby complete another packed program, which gets underway with early racing from 4.30pm. Sprintcar time trials will commence at 5.00pm, with the main program to kick off at 5.45pm. Tickets can be purchased in advance from the track website at, with online ticketholders securing early entry to the grounds from 3.30pm.

East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship round ten nominations: Adam Butler, Allan Woods, Andrew Corbet, Andrew Scheuerle, Anthony Lambert, Brent Kratzmann, Brock Dean, Brodie Tulloch, Bryan Mann, Bryan Zelinski, Callum Walker, Cody Maroske, Darren Jensen, David Whell, Donny Schatz, Dylan Menz, Jayden Peacock, Kaiden Manders, Karl Hoffmans, Kristy Bonsey, Liam Atkinson, Logan Schuchart, Lucas Wolfe, Luke Oldfield, Lynton Jeffrey, Mark Pholi, Mitch Gowland, Mitchell Gee, Nelson Reddacliff, Paul Rooks, Peter Lack, Simon Jupe, Steve Greer, Steve Rowell, Steven White, Stewart Craig

Ian Boettcher Race Parts Formula 500 Stampede round two nominations: Adrian, Farrell, Brady Argles, Cameron Bertuch, Ethan Eyears, Kristin Brown, Kurt Wilson, Marshall Lewis, Mitchell Whittaker, Nick Hodges, Paul Chaffey, Royce Harvey, Tomas Partington, Vicki Canfield, Wayne Wallace

Formula 500 Junior nominations: Bodie Smith, Jy Corbet, Tarhlea Apelt, Taylor Morgan, Taylor Prosser, Trent Vardy

Dirt Modified Paul Britten 44 Memorial nominations: Andrew Firth, Andrew Pezzutti, Anthony Ashen, Chris Corbett, Dale Corbett, David Blanch, Graeme Holland, Jai Stephenson, Josh Rose, Kevin Britten, Kevin Stow, Mark Connelly, Mark Robinson, Marley Weller, Mitchell Randall, Nick Knott, Paul Booker, Peter Britten, Phil McNamara, Ray Eggins, Russell Ward, Sam Bruggy, Scott Cannon, Scott Quirk, Steve Millthorpe, Terry Leerentveld, Trent Scofield, Trevor Wiley, Zac McDonald

Open Sedan B Nominations: Ben Finch, Ben Robertson, Ben Taylor, Chris Van Der Ryken, Chris Wilson, Haiden Grantz, Jaycina Craft, Kerrie-Anne Browne, Merv Price, Nathan Lowe, Neville Lowther, Nicole Woolf, Rachel Hawkins, Ricky Price, Russell Davis, Scott Taylor, Steve Bradford, Tristan Price

Open Sedan A nominations: Adam Brimmell, Bob Ware, Daniel Taylor, Gary Kivela, Keith Craft, Les Eisenmenger, Michael Taylor, Robin Bains, Wayne Kirkman

For event updates and information, follow Archerfield Speedway on Facebook and Twitter.

New Page 2