Include Recent News Effects functional test file
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Easter Sprintcar Showdown for Archerfield
Author : Archerfield Speedway

After a longer than expected break as a result of inclement weather, Sprintcars return to Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway this weekend for round two of the Clay-Per-View Easter Shootout, with 39 drivers nominated for the event on Saturday night (April 15). In addition to all the local stars and track regulars, several interstaters are making the trip north for three consecutive nights of racing. The opening round will be staged at Toowoomba Speedway on Friday night (April 14) and the final round is scheduled for Lismore Speedway in New South Wales on Sunday evening (April 16). Regardless of whether they enjoyed or endured their time away from the track, teams will be primed for their return to racing and all the challenges that come with racing three nights in a row. In what will be another huge program of events, the Australian Lightning Sprint Championship will also be decided, with Wingless Sprintcars also bringing big numbers for their annual Easter pilgrimage.

Whilst former national champ Robbie Farr has enjoyed plenty of success at other tracks this season, Saturday night looms as a significant challenge and he will no doubt relish the opportunity to face off against the likes of Andrew Scheuerle, Luke Oldfield, Lachlan McHugh, Peter Lack, Bryan Mann, Brent Kratzmann and plenty more. Farr has a reasonably good record at Archerfield, but the level of competition so far this season in the East Coast Logistics Track Championship has been exceptional and he will need to be at his absolute best, and perhaps even need a little luck, if he hopes to hoist the winners trophy in the feature race on Saturday night.

Although he races a much-reduced schedule these days, Darren Jensen is another with plenty of big race experience that will prove critical in the heat of battle, while young guns such as Callum Walker, Dylan Menz and Jayden Peacock will have no regard for reputations as they grasp another opportunity to secure experience and maybe upstage a few old hands along the way. Meanwhile, New South Wales are sending their best and brightest to take on the locals, with Brayden Willmington, Michael Saller, Mark Attard, Daniel Sayre and Brendan Scorgie amongst the entries.

In addition to the excellent prizemoney on offer at each round and for the series overall, there will also be additional prizes up for grabs courtesy of Tullboro Performance Products, including a lucky draw at the drivers meeting prior to each round that will see one driver take home a set of Tullboro billet AN wrenches.

Also attracting in excess of 35 nominations for Saturday night is round two the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Wingless Sprints Easter Trail. Whilst Adam Butler has earned the right to pre-event favouritism given his consistently strong form throughout the season, there are more than 15 interstate challengers in the field, including a three-car team from Dubbo comprising the very experienced Mark Blyton and his sons Marshall and Jamison. Of the locals, Cody O’Connell has been impressive of late, finishing second behind Butler at their last Archerfield appearance, while Glenn Wright is another who has produced some good form in recent weeks and should be amongst those in contention for the $500 on offer to the winner of the feature race presented by Oztrax Earthworks, with another $2000 in prizes up for over the two nights courtesy of Ian Boettcher Race Parts, BHR Fabrication and GW Racing.

Although somewhat down in numbers by comparison with 23 entries, the Australian Lightning Sprint Championship should still provide plenty of action as the best drivers from Queensland and New South Wales converge in a concerted effort to achieve something that has proven very difficult for so many in recent seasons; finding a way to beat defending champ Kurt Wilson, who also took out the New South Wales title earlier this season. Newly crowned Queensland champ Wayne Iacono and the man he deposed in Keith Blatch are perhaps the most likely to upstage Wilson, along with former national titleholders Sean Iacono and Dave Fanning. However, NSW young gun Jordan Binskin arrives fresh from a feature race win in Sydney last weekend and is a real threat, while the battle between siblings Aaron and Kirsty Kelly might see their determination to beat each other carry them all the way to the podium.

With Ford vs Holden vs Sigma sedans also on the program, there will be over 100 cars racing in what will be a huge night of dirt track action. Gates open at 4.00pm, early racing commences at 4.45pm and the main show will get underway at 6.00pm.

For more information, follow Archerfield Speedway on Facebook or head to the track website at for event information and updates.

New Page 2